Price: € 16.00
WWE 1CD 20202
Carlos Cruz de Castro
Sinfonia no.1 "Canarias"
Introduccion. Presto 15:43
Folia 11:54
Allegro 10:07
Tocata vieja en tono nuevo 17:15
Los elementos: n 4 El fuego 08:03
Total Time 01:03:02
The Sinfonia n° 1 "Canarias" is dedicated to the composer's father, an old Canary Islander aged 94 at the time it was written. He was the reason why Cruz de Castro decided to focus the composition's middle movement wholly on the Canarian Folía. This special, important form of Canarian folk music appears both in its original form and in variations: "That's the way it should be: from the simple to the complex, from the melody line to the concentration: a harmonious whole." (Cruz de Castro) The Tocata vieja en tono nuevo was written on the basis of the Toccata no. 4 in the fifth tone by Juan Bautista José Cabanilles, a Spanish Baroque composer (Cristóbal Halffter's Tiento del primer tono y batalla imperial is also based on a composition by Cabanilles, see col legno 20204). Cruz de Castro created not merely a variation or instrumentation out of this material but turned it into a completely new work. The four elements are a subject that has frequently been tackled by composers for piano in the past; usually they chose water, but occasionally fire as well: reminiscent of Debussy's Feux d'artifice, de Castro's Los elementos: n° 4 El fuego, like the other three parts of the cycle Los elementos, is dedicated to a Canarian artist.
Une Soirée Vian (1991): on the borderline between opera, oratorio and cabaret Denys Bouliane investigates the heritage of the French writer Boris Vian. 
Strive for the greatest integration, exclude all vagaries and obfuscations. 
Nono’s first work for orchestra, the Variazioni canoniche (1950) based on Schönberg, already comprises the bases of his late works, such as No hay caminos... (1987). 
col legno